If you think someone has blocked you on Instagram, there are a few tell-tale signs to look for. In today's blog, we'll discuss all the ways you can check and confirm if someone has blocked you on Instagram. Let's begin!
One of the first things that you can do is type in the person's username in the Instagram app search bar. There are several outcomes that can occur when searching for an Instagram user via the search bar.
If the search doesn't give any results, and you are unable to find the user via their @username, then, there is a high possibility that they have blocked you on Instagram. However, it is also possible that the person might have deactivated or deleted their Instagram account.
If someone has blocked you on Instagram, it may happen that when you search for their username, it comes up in the results but you are unable to open up their profile, and an error occurs. However, it is also possible that there is a genuine error with the Instagram network or that your mobile is not able to link Instagram to a stable internet connection.
If someone blocked you on Instagram, you may be able to see their username in search results, but, their profile will appear empty. You may see a 'no posts found' text on their feed. This most likely means that they have blocked you on Instagram.
Another way to see if someone may have blocked you is to check any past conversations you may have had with them via Instagram DMs. You may notice that when you look for the Instagram messages you had with this person, their profile photo may be empty and their profile name appears as 'Instagrammer'.
This could mean that they may have blocked you. However, it is also possible that this person may have temporarily deactivated or permanently disabled their account.
Now - a sure shot method of confirming if someone has blocked you on Instagram is to search for their username via a web browser.
Here is a quick way to confirm if you're blocked on Instagram by a given user -
Now, there are a few things that can happen here -
If the user handle is not visible on the app, but, is visible on the web via an incognito browser, this confirms that the user has blocked you on Instagram. At this point, you can know with complete certainty that your profile has been blocked on Instagram by this person.
If the Instagram users' account is not visible on the web as well as your IG app, this would mean that they have either temporarily or permanently suspended their account. You can now rest assured knowing that they have not blocked you.
Another way to find out if someone blocked you on Instagram is to search for the person's profile via another Instagram account. This could be via the Insta app on your friend's phone using their profile. Or, you may use other Instagram accounts that you own.
If you have access to a friend's account, you can ask them to look up the username and confirm if you are blocked on Instagram or not. If the person's profile appears on your friend's account, then that will confirm that you are blocked by this Instagram account.
It's not uncommon for users to have a primary account and another account for backup. If you do have another Instagram handle, you may search for the person's username whilst logged into this account on your app to find out if you are blocked. However, please note - it's also possible that the user has blocked both your primary and your other account.
One of the most apparent things that happen when an Instagram account blocks you is that you are unable to see all their posts, and their post count. Additionally, you will not be able to see their Instagram stories, follower list, and even their profile when you search for it.
The next thing that happens is that all your likes, comments, and replies to comments on this Instagram user's profile page vanish. That's right. Any old comments that you may have left on their post will be removed permanently from this user's profile page.
Can you send a direct message (DM) to someone who has blocked you on Instagram? Yes, but, they won't ever receive it. As a blocked user, your DMs will never reach the other user. You may send new messages to them via IG DMs, but, they won't receive or see it. At a future date, if the user decides to unblock you, the DMs will still not recover.
Disabled tags are another way to know if someone blocked you on Instagram. When you try to tag someone on your photos, or via a comment on a post, you will not be able to find their account to tag.
When you are in a group chat with a user you have blocked or someone who has blocked you, you will get a message asking if you'd like to leave the group. Should you wish to stay in the group, or should the person that blocked you choose to stay in the group - both of you will be able to check group messages from each other. However, this still doesn't mean that you can send them direct messages outside of the group chat.
Read our blog on How to Block or Unblock Someone for a complete guide!
Got a few questions about what else happens when someone blocks you on Instagram? Let's take a deep dive into the most common questions we receive.
No, you will not be able to view the stories of a user who has blocked you on Instagram.
No, Instagram does not send any notification to the blocked user. If someone blocks you on Instagram, you won't know it until you confirm it via the methods shared above. Similarly, if you block someone, they won't get a notification about it.
No, you will no longer be able to access saved photos of an account that has blocked you.
There is no way to know if someone blocked you deliberately or if it was by mistake.
Yes, as an Instagram user, you are free to block any profile you wish to. This includes people who are following you and those who are not.
Short answer, Yes. Virtually every social media network gives users the ability to block anyone they wish. If the given user wants to block you on another network, they can easily do so.
Here is what happens when someone on Instagram unblocks you -
Once you are unblocked you will be able to the user's profile, all of their posts, and all the details of their page, including their followers' data. However, it must be noted that if the given account is a private account, then you will have to request to follow them again, in order to see all their posts.
Once unblocked, you will be able to message the person on Instagram via DMs. Please note that any previous messages that you may have sent whilst you were blocked, will not re-deliver to them once they unblock you. You will only be able to fresh messages to this person.
When someone on Instagram unblocks you, any previous comments you may have made on their posts will still not be visible. Remember, once someone blocks you, all your likes, comments, and replies on their posts are permanently removed.
Once unblocked, you will now be able to tag this user within your posts or via a comment.
If you're concerned about begin blocked by someone on Instagram, the first thing you should do is look at them on your IG app. If they do not show up there, you can then look them up via the web. Remember - if they still do not show up on the web via incognito mode, it's likely that they may have deleted or deactivated their account.
If a user has deleted or deactivated their account, it no longer appears on Instagram searches. That does not mean that they have blocked you. It simply means that they might be taking their time off. Or perhaps, they have decided to permanently deactivate and delete their Instagram account.
If the first method doesn't work, you may double-check the block status by searching for the username via another Instagram account (ex: a friend who can look up the username for you via their account).
If you find that the user has blocked you, it's best to respect their decision and move on. Despite being blocked, wishing the person well is always a good thing to do. And hopefully, when they are ready, they may unblock you.